top of page

A few steps in the process

Although we have moved back to the US and I haven’t yet set up my new studio space, I am motivated to get back to work and continue to make gestural cyanotype prints using non conventional items. Now, I will have a different kind of light (and temperature) here in Minnesota, but with trial and error I will find a flow. Who knows? I may have to set up a UV light box and print with that! time and experimentation will tell. These photos represent some of the steps in how I worked while living in Grenada. The first image is of sea glass, bracelets, string, coins, found plastics, a mini jar, lentils, sea fan bits, and other found objects sitting on the print, exposing in the sun. I used rocks and bits of found tile to hold the paper down and prevent it from blowing away with the breeze. The second image shows the print sitting in a water bath and turning blue and white. The finished piece is drying flat on a towel. It is a figure sitting with bright lenses over the eyes in flowing swirls of energy.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page