top of page

blue and yellow

I used blue and yellow pigment for these paintings. My friends gifted me the pigments from their trip to Marrakech, Morocco. I mixed the color in with a chalky white medium that gives the look of handmade paper. I used only a palette knife to apply the paste onto canvas board. I loved how the knife sounds as it scrapes against the board. I enjoy the challenge of applying the paste in layers and knowing when to leave an area of the painting alone and when to not over work it. It has been about 20 years since I've made a point to make a painting using only a palette knife. These are inspired by the seemingly endless terrain of flat, dry land and sky full of textured clouds out in the Great Plains of Colorado. I can't wait to capture more plains images and also explore the textures and colors of the Grenada landscape.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page